Friday, 6 March 2009

National Indigenous workshop kicks off in Adelaide next week

One hundred Indigenous people from around the country will meet in Adelaide next week for a three-day workshop to lay the groundwork for a new national Indigenous representative body.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner Tom Calma, who agreed to a request from the federal government to convene the independent Indigenous Steering Committee organising the consultation, said the 100 applicants were selected from a highly competitive field.

“There was an extraordinary field of highly committed Indigenous people from all walks of life who applied,” Mr Calma said.

 “Such a high quality field of applicants meant that the selection process in the end had to come down to obtaining an appropriate balance of ages, locations and experience so that the workshop can represent the diversity of Indigenous communities across the country.”

Mr Calma said 263 applications were received by the closing date on 13 February, with a further 35 late applications which were not considered. He said 56 per cent of the applicants were male, 44 per cent were female and that 45 per cent were from urban areas, 34 per cent from regional areas and 21 per cent from remote communities.

“This national workshop will focus on identifying the key elements or features of a new national Indigenous representative body which can then be distilled down to a series of preferred models for the new body,” Mr Calma said.

“The workshop won’t be endorsing a final model for a national representative body nor will it be deciding the membership of it.”

The independent Indigenous Steering Committee assessed each applicant against criteria in the nomination form, including: the requirement that they be an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander; that they be nominated by an Indigenous community organisation or self nominated with two written references supporting the nomination; that they have demonstrated leadership capacity; that they have an ability to take part in high level discussions on strategic issues; and that they are able to make a positive and considered contribution to deliberations on the establishment of the new national Indigenous representative body.

Mr Calma said only those able to meet all requirements for the workshop were considered.

“For example, we had to cull those applicants who could only attend two of the three days, and then rated all remaining applications against the criteria,” he said.

“The Steering Committee ultimately came up with a list of 50 men and 50 women across all states and territories, urban, regional and remote areas, and across all age groups.

“The aim of this workshop is to identify issues where there is agreement on a way forward and to identify those issues where there is a divergence of views,” Mr Calma said.

“I am confident that this group of motivated and strategic thinkers will rise to the challenge and move us a few steps closer to establishing a new national Indigenous representative body.”

The workshop will take place from 11- 13 March in Adelaide and will include an introductory session open to the media on Wednesday 11 March. The Steering Committee will release workshop outcomes in the week commencing 16 March.

The list of workshop attendees is attached below. Please note, some people who were initially elected have withdrawn – those people are not listed.

Media contact:  Louise McDermott – 02 9284 9851 or 0419 258 597


Mr Desmond Tayley
Mr Gregory Phillips
Mr Todd Phillips
Mr (Lui) Ned David
Mr Alf Lacey
Mr Stephen Hagan
Dr Michael Adams
Mr Reginald Rickardo Guivarra
Mr Percy Neal
Mayor Napau Pedro Stephen
Mr Victor Hart
Mr Michael Williams
Ms Babinda Lency Adidi
Miss Victoria Jenkins
Ms Michelle Deshong
Mrs Mary Ann Coconut
Delilah MacGilivray
Mrs Elaine McKeon
Mrs Patricia Thompson
Ms Helen Akee

Mr Paul Gray
Mr Troy McGrath
Mr Sean Gordon
Mr Leon Donovan
Mr William Johnston
Mr Graeme Mundine
Mr Leslie Ridgeway
Mr Tom Briggs
Mr Steve Widders
Mr Aden Ridgeway
Mr Russell Taylor
Miss Kirsten Cheatham
Ms Megan Davis
Ms Carla McGrath
Miss Renee Williamson
Ms Tina McGhie
Ms Kim O'Donnell
Ms Kirstie Parker
Ms Lynette Riley
Ms Shiralee Carroll
Ms Bev Manton
Ms Mary-Lou Buck
Ms Neita Scott
Mr Rick Griffiths

Australian Capital Territory
Mr Steven Brown
Mr Ron Morony
Mr Terry Williams
Ms Anne Martin
Mrs Matilda Ann House
Ms Mary Guthrie

Northern Territory
Mr Miritjunga Darren Maymuru
Mr Kim Hill
Mr Geoffrey Wangapa Jungarrayi Barnes
Mr Barayuwa Mununggurr
Mr Marius Puruntatameri
Mr Paul Ah Chee
Mr Wali Wunungmurra
Mr Banambi Wunungmurra
Mr Mialay Dhambarra Wunungmurra
Mr Harold Furber
Ms Barbara Shaw
Ms Amanda Ngalmi
Ms Ngaree Ah Kit
Ms Djapirri Mununggirritj
Mrs Marrpalawuy Marika
Mrs Bess Nungarrayi

South Australia
Commissioner Klynton Wanganeen
Mr Eddie Cubillo
Mr Tauto Sansbury
Prof Roger Thomas
Miss Rebecca Grace Richards
Ms Eugenia Flynn
Miss Diat Alferink
Ms Leanne Maree Liddle
Ms Sandra Miller

Western Australia
Miss Dorinda Cox
Mrs Loretta Harris
Ms Glenda Kickett
Mrs Kayleen Hayward
Mrs Jennifer Kniveton (Gregory)
Mrs Dorothy Henry
Miss Rosetta Maria Sahanna
Mrs Patricia Mason
Assc Prof Ted Wilkes
Mr Braden Hill
Mr Peter Jeffries
Mr David Collard
Mr James (Jim) Morrison
Mr Brian Wyatt
Mr Sandy Davies

Mr Anthony King

Mr Walter Saunders
Dr Mark Rose
Mr Graham Atkinson
Ms Lidia Alma Thorpe
Ms Leanne Miller
Ms Judy Saxton
Ms Jill Gallagher
Miss Lynette Austin
Mrs Muriel Bamblett
Ms Monica Morgan
Ms Daphne Yarram