(Left to right) Isaiah Dawe (NSW), Tristan Duggie (NT), Sophie Coffin (WA), Leeonee Thompson (QLD), Brayden Grogan (QLD), Matika Jane (NSW), Tara Tonkin (NSW), Tyrell Sinclair (SA), Sharna Bartley (ACT)

Learning about Native American Culture

Written by Isaiah DaweA group of nine young Indigenous leaders from across Australia recently went to America to learn from Native Americans as part of the International Visitor Leadership Program.They were on a mission to learn about their history...
Monday 6 November 2017
Community Organisation finalist logos

Five community organisations named as finalists for Human Rights Awards

The Australian Human Rights Commission has shortlisted five finalists in the Community Organisations category of the Human Rights Awards.The award is presented each year to a non-government or community based organisation with a proven track record...
Friday 3 November 2017
Perth skyline

Five businesses shortlisted for human rights award

Five Australian businesses are on the shortlist for the 2017 Human Rights Business Award.They are financial services company Allianz, publisher LexisNexis, the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Corporation (GOLDOC), marketing agency The Copy...
Thursday 2 November 2017
Dr Jackie Huggins and Dr Tim Soutphommasane at the Kep Enderby Memorial Lecture 2017

Dr Huggins delivers keynote address

The annual Kep Enderby Memorial Lecture was held in Sydney last night, with Dr Jackie Huggins, Co-Chair of the National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples delivering the keynote address.
Wednesday 1 November 2017
Uluru Convention

Social Justice Commissioner deeply disappointed by rejection of proposed...

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner June Oscar has called on the Federal Government to continue the conversation about constitutional recognition of Indigenous people.Speaking at the Rural and Remote Mental Health...
Tuesday 31 October 2017