Skip to main content

Award recognises anti-racism work: nominate now

Race Race Discrimination
Racism. It Stops With Me

Individuals, community groups, councils, schools, clubs and corporates, take note: if you have taken a stand against racial discrimination, please nominate for the 2017 Racism. It Stops With Me award.

Race Discrimination Commissioner Tim Soutphommasane said the annual Racism. It Stops With Me award recognises the contributions of organisations and individuals to reducing and preventing racism in Australia.

“Organisations can include community groups or businesses and they can be recognised for a range of anti-racism work including education and prevention,” Dr Soutphommasane said.

The National Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasters Council won last year’s Racism. It Stops With Me award, in recognition of its achievement in harnessing the expertise of more than 4,000 volunteers from 125 cultural groups. The broadcaster delivered over 2,000 hours of programs each week last year, in English, Congolese, Punjabi, Farsi, Filipino and other languages.

The Racism. It Stops With Me award is one of eight awards presented each year by the Australian Human Rights Commission. The other award categories are:

  • Human Rights Medal
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Business Award
  • Media Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award
  • Community Organisation Award
  • Law Award

Potential nominees may have taken action to overcome discrimination or infringements of human rights; or encouraged social harmony in areas such as race relations, gender equality and the treatment of children and young people.

The Commission is also seeking nominations from people, businesses, or organisations that have enhanced the rights of Indigenous Australians; promoted equal opportunity for people with a disability; countered discrimination on the basis of age or sexuality; or increased awareness of issues of injustice or inequality in Australia.

Nominations for this year’s award are open until 4 September 2017.

Details and nomination forms are online at

See Also