Friday 15 November 2013

They are the two most vigourously contested categories for the 2013 Australian Human Rights Awards.  And after weeks of intense deliberation, the judging panel has considered the record 71 nominations received for the Community Individual Award and the Community Organisation Award and delivered a shortlist of four finalists for each.

The shortlisted organisations are:

  • Multicultural Council of Wagga Wagga: for its provision of services to refugees and its promotion of respect among people from diverse backgrounds. 
  • Touched by Olivia Foundation: for its fundraising work and its commitment to building inclusive play spaces for children.
  • NSW Gay and Lesbian Rights Lobby:  for its long-term commitment to advocacy and law reform for LGBTI citizens.
  • National Centre for Indigenous Excellence: for its support of young Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.

The shortlisted individuals are:

Carolyn Frohmader, who has made a significant contribution to the promotion and protection of human rights for women and girls with disabilities.
Martin Hodgson, who is a volunteer and senior advocate at the Foreign Prisoner Support Service.
Gina Wilson, who is the founder of Organisation Intersex International (OII) Australia, and was its president until September 2013.
Cameron Lionel Murphy, who is a human rights activist and long-term supporter of the NSW Council for Civil Liberties.

The 2013 Australian Human Rights Awards will be presented on 10 December at the Museum of Contemporary Art, with MC Craig Reucassel from The Chaser. 

Details of finalists in print and digital, non-fiction literature, radio, TV, and business categories are now online.

The finalists for the Law Award, the Young People’s Human Rights Medal, and the Human Rights Medal will be announced next week.

Tickets for the event are also available online at

Photo: Social Justice Commissioner Mick Gooda with award winners at the 2012 Human Rights Awards.