Monday 17 February 2014

Former Institute of Public Affairs policy director, Tim Wilson, joins the Australian Human Rights Commission on Tuesday as Human Rights Commissioner.

The President of the Australian Human Rights Commission, Professor Gillian Triggs, said Commissioner Wilson will focus on promoting and advancing human rights and freedoms.

“The Human Rights Commission continues to meet the challenges of protecting freedoms and advancing the human rights of all Australians.

“Commissioner Wilson joins us as one of seven Commissioners dedicated to these challenges. We welcome him onboard and look forward to his contributions,” Professor Triggs said.

The Australian Human Rights Commission is an independent statutory body led by its President, Professor Gillian Triggs. The Commission resolves complaints of discrimination or breaches of human rights under federal laws, develops education programs and resources for schools, workplaces and the community, and provides advice to courts, parliaments and governments.

The Commission has seven Commissioners. They are:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner Mick Gooda
  • Age Discrimination Commissioner Susan Ryan
  • Children’s Commissioner Megan Mitchell
  • Disability Discrimination Commissioner Graeme Innes
  • Human Rights Commissioner Tim Wilson
  • Race Discrimination Commissioner Tim Soutphommasane
  • Sex Discrimination Commissioner Elizabeth Broderick.

Find out more about the Australian Human Rights Commission.

Media contact: Dominic O’Grady (02) 9284 9861 or 0419 258 597