Appendix 5:Twenty six priority communities

Community	Tenure
Northern Territory All 15 priority communities in the Northern Territory are on Aboriginal land under the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 (Cth).	
1. Nguiu	Section 19A township lease to the Executive Director of Township Leasing on 30 August 2007 for 99 years.
2. Angurugu	Section 19A township lease to the Executive Director of Township Leasing on 4 December 2008 for 40 + 40 years.
3. Umbakumba	
4. Gunbalanya	Agreement for section 19 lease to NT Housing over all housing areas for 40 years.
5. Maningrida	
6. Galiwinku	
7. Wadeye	
8. Milingimbi	Negotiations for a lease are ongoing.
9. Gapuwiyak	
10. Ngukurr	
11. Numbulwar	
12. Lajamanu	
13. Yirrkala	
14. Yuendumu	
15. Hermannsburg	

Community	Tenure
Queensland	
16. Mornington Island	Situated on land which is leased to the Mornington Shire Council under the Local Government (Aboriginal Lands) Act 1978 (Qld).
17. Doomadgee	Situated on DOGIT land held by the Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council.
18. Hope Vale	Situated on DOGIT land held by the Hopevale Aboriginal Shire Council.
19. Aurukun	Situated on land which is leased to the Aurukun Shire Council under the Local Government (Aboriginal Lands) Act 1978 (Qld).
South Australia	
20. Amata	Amata and Mimili are situated on Aboriginal land owned by Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara. Individual housing parcels leased to the Minister for Housing (SA).
21. Mimili	
New South Wales	
22. Walgett	At the time of writing specific details were unavailable.
23. Wilcannia	At the time of writing specific details were unavailable.
Western Australia	
24. Fitzroy Crossing	Land for Aboriginal people in WA is held under a variety of tenures. The exact location and tenure of the proposed housing in and around these communities has not been finalised.
25. Halls Creek	
26. Dampier Peninsula (Ardyaloon and Beagle Bay)	